The Little Things

The Watchers in Paperback!

Warm Wednesday!

Then again, I live in Arizona right now and saying it’s warm is a bit of an understatement! I have a few really awesome updates about projects and such going on right now!

Before I get started on all of that, I need to get out the circumstances lately.

For one, I am exhausted… again.

This time is isn’t from book related things so much. The day before yesterday I officially finished moving all of my stuff… It’s been six months. I kept having other things come up and life, so I just didn’t worry about it too much. Now all of my crap is cluttering the downstairs of our house and today I am arranging and unpacking and cleaning.

The thing about moving in Arizona is that it is hot. Really hot.

We broke our summer record this year.

Yay us!

I also have a treadmill. A very heavy treadmill.

One that I had envisioned going upstairs in the craft room and out of the way. This meant it had to go up our (tight, boxy, u-shaped) stairs and apparently, whoever designed this house, had not taken into account people owning furniture past the first floor. The poor walls and TJ and I took a beating but we flipping got it up there. With only a few cuts and scrapes and one big bruise where I tried to catch the flipping thing when it started to slide down on top of TJ on the stairs.

I learned I need to work on my upper body strength, but that’s another story for another time.

I also started school last Thursday. I kept my on-campus time low so I can, hopefully, have more time to work on books.

Though I haven’t had any time to work on The Life of a Keykeeper. At all.

Which bums me out. Or it would, if I had enough energy to be bummed out.

I may even have to push back the publish date until I am 100% comfortable with it being out there for everyone to read. I want to avoid pushing back the date but I won’t publish it until I’ve made it the best I can. Today I plan to write a bit on it, unpack, clean, do some homework ahead of time, and impatiently check the mail for the bulk order of The Watchers I placed from our printer!

Which slides me into the main purpose of the topic: The Watchers is now available in paperback! CreateSpace linkĀ here. Amazon link here.

Finally, after months of trial and error I think we have it in good enough shape for others to read it.

I learned through all this printing and proof nonsense that I am picky!

I ordered several copies, some of which are going to reviewers (Andrew @ Endlessly Reading, I am finally sending you your copy in just a few days!), others are going to people who want to buy it directly from me, and a few (if I have any left over!) will be signed and used as part of the Goodreads giveaway between now and Christmas!

Whew! There has been a bit going on with everything and hopefully this will only get easier from here on out!

Thank you all for being so patient with me getting the paperbacks of The Watchers out, I really wanted them to be perfect.

I am also fangirling over here slightly as Heather Brewer (Author of The Chronicles of Vladimir Todd) is friends with me on Goodreads! *Keep Breathing* Her books are hilarious and wonderful!

We have over 1500 Twitter followers now and this blog has 36 followers. I also just got three fans on Goodreads.

I just posted about all the Goodreads stuff earlier this morning, so if you want the details on all of that click here.

I have been busy, but also fantastically happy with everything. Keeps me out of mischief.

We also just had a book haul including awesome titles such as The Thief of Always by Clive Barker (one of my favorites but TJ had never read it, so we needed a new copy), Birdman by Mo Hayder, Faery Tales and Nightmares by Melissa Marr, Ruined by Paula Morris, and A Secret Rage by Charlaine Harris. Hopefully I’ll finish my books from my last haul (TJ is currently reading Marked by P.C. and Kristen Cast and I’m trying to find the time to read The City of Bones by Cassandra Clare).

And finally we got The Watchers pins in from Cafepress and I love them! They came out perfect! I will be including a few alongside some of the review copies and giveaway copies!

photo

Also check out the size difference between the “old” version of the Watchers and the newer one:

photo 1 photo 2

How crazy is that? Remember when I upped the font size because it was “too small” for a young adult book? This is the difference!

The final ones are a little thinner than the one on the left. That one is about 526 pages and the final paperbacks are 430-ish including the extra Life of a Keykeeper chapter.

Very excited to have everything out!

Hope you all have a glorious week!

Happy Reading!

J.A.

Standard

2 thoughts on “The Watchers in Paperback!

  1. I love the design on your book! Haha, and I know what you mean by a lack of upper body strength. I’ve read a few pages of “The Watches” from Amazon–I like how you pull your readers right in from the start.

Leave a comment